A time machine?

I have been once again led down an alternate path while working on something this evening. This time it has to do with how to revert installs on Debian (Ubuntu) based systems when an update breaks something. This can happen on servers, laptops/desktops, etc.I am not the normal (K)Ubuntu user running the Symaptic pkg manager for updates. I tend to always rely on the console aptitude. Some times you preform an upgrade only to find out things just broke and you want to revert.Aptitude records packages it installs in a log file (/var/log/aptitude). So I began to think of writing a quick solution, until I Googled aptitude rollback update. I found Flyback, TimeVault and Dirvish.

Why am I not using my Unison previously mentioned in another post? Unison does a fine job keeping things in-sync. I’m sure Unison could be twisted to act as a daily backup tool as well.  But I use it to keep one or more  filesystems up to date.

Flyback

The latest release .4 is five days old. What? I came across a new open source application? That is very rare. I will admit it provides me with a warm fuzzy that the developer is actively developing and maintaining the software.Initial dislikes? Gnome. Its a toss of the coin — it ended on tails. Enough said. :)Version .4 has signs of promise, but it is not fully baked yet.  It plagued me with issues upon the first run when I was asked to setup paths to include/exclude.  Then, after I selected a path, it backed up the files in my destination (NFS share), but a bug presented itself leaving me very little comfort in any backup.The application with a bit more polishing shows signs of promise.  But I am not sure what the author has in store for us yet.

TimeVault

I decided to bypass TimeVault at this time.  It does however fully support Nautilus when restoring files.  That would be fun to try/use, but I don’t run Gnome.

Keep

Since I ended up on backup software, I decided to take the KDE/Kubuntu already provided application called Keep.  It is very simple in features but that lends to a very simplistic steps for any user.  It does automatically backup predefined paths with a daemon that is included.  I will have to do more testing before I rely on it however.

Leave a Reply

