Subversion and NFS

Tonight I wanted to create a subversion repository on an NFS mount. But a file lock issue stopped me dead in my tracks.

Graeme Mathieson posted on his blog: Subversion and NFS file locking. He was able to attract Byung-chul Lee who left this comment; in it Byung-chul went on to describe how one should use proper NFS mounting arguments:

mount -o “hard,intr,bg,nolock,rw” <device> <dir>

I used “fg” to keep unsuccessful mounts in the foreground. But the solution worked; I was able to import my C source!

Note: I read the man page, reviewing each option, and saw nothing that seemed to indicate I would suffer any side affects here. But please always check things out for yourself before copy/pasting off the internet.

Leave a Reply

