Joel on Bribing Bloggers

Very rarely do I like to post an entry in my blog to piggy back off another blogger. Often I will leave comments. But I feel so strongly on this, and comments were out of the question…so on with it!

Joel writes here (Bribing Bloggers), and I have to admit. I was nervous when I read the first part of his article. I have been a Joel On Software reader for quite a long time. In the end I was pleased to know that Joel has not compromised his qualities and passion for doing what he feels is the right thing to do.

Very rarely do you see someone with so much exposure not cave to the corporate giants. Joel stuck to his guns, called it like he saw it, and went on to endorse his hot tub. Good luck there Joel! 🙂

BTW…I requested and received the Project Ardvark DVD for Christmas. A interesting documentary by Joel, interns and the Fog Creek gang back in my old home state, NY!

I suggest you watch it if you have an opportunity, it will make you laugh. But I did hope it touched a wee bit more on the project itself. I was really interested in following more of the project details from start to finish.*

* No, Joel did not send me a free DVD to endorse Project Ardvark! 😉

2 responses to “Joel on Bribing Bloggers

  1. Man, that is one of the best posts I’ve read in a while. I honestly would have agreed with Scoble before reading Joel’s view on the subject — but at this point I must agree with Joel; The gift does creates a social obligation of reciprocity to the vendor which deteriorates the credibility and trust of blogs and bloggers the World abroad.

    BTW: In my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with piggy-backing off another blogger as long as you have something unique to contribute or you’re offering a conglomerate of information from multiple bloggers whom which you agree with and want to make it easier for others to find and review. 😛

  2. Oh, and what’s your take on Project Ardvark now that your copy has come in? I figured you might blog about it, but all I see is a bunch of flapdoodle about technology and programming. 😛

Leave a Reply

