Linux less stable

I attended a work related dinner a week or so ago, and heard that one of the Broadcast Engineers from my company stated Linux is less stable than Solaris. I am not trying to disagree (yet), but I began asking a few questions to better understand the basis of this comment. The discussion led down the path that perhaps the Engineer felt more comfortable moving media with the Sun 480’s, Solaris and code previously written by Sun Engineers?

I do seem to recall that Sun Engineers were on station for weeks, making software and hardware changes to squeeze out every last bit of throughput to meet the tough demands outlined in the requirements from my company.

Am I being too defensive yet?

I’m not as interested in defending Linux as I am in wondering why people continually offer their expert advice when they are not truely an expert both systems.

Leave a Reply

