So, tell me about yourself…

Found this post on another blog:

50 COMMON INTERVIEW Q&A

That’s right, the first question I typically ask is #1 (Tell me about yourself), to open the air and get them feeling comfortable speaking with me. However, before asking them #1, I do typically tell them about myself, my team, the position, the company and our IT department. I continue to say this interview is a two way conversation, please feel free to ask me anything.

My other big question is after describing the position to them, I ask them if they are still interested. I have actually had people say; no, this is not at all what I was told this job was about. Or I’m not sure…which lets me know I need to find out why they are uncertain before even getting in the door. I look to uncover what is the problem quickly.

Leave a Reply

